Domestic Abuse: Kitchen Table Mastermind

Mastermind With My Neighbor

This morning I drove to my old neighborhood for my monthly Mastermind.  Sitting at the kitchen table we began our work. Reviewing goals, asking questions, giving recommendations. We’re both working on moving forward with the support of each other. As I got into my car my heart began to ache. A familiar ache of longing to be home. A wave of sadness feeling how abuse has changed my life.

Fear of Setting Goals

When sharing my goals I talked about the anxiety and fear of goal setting. If I don’t meet my goals I may end up homeless. It’s a sobering thought. Never have I felt the weight of goal setting on my shoulders. So I acknowledge my fear and summon up my courage to keep going.

About Me

My name is withheld. I am a woman who began experiencing abuse for the first time at age 57. Now, at age 60 I am rebuilding my life while living with my 72-year-old abuser. In the past three years, this sociopathic narcissist’s need to possess me led to financial abuse. First encouraging me to quit my job and launch a non-profit. Second, to sell my home and use the funds to build a business. All the while telling me his home was now my home. Why did I need two homes? What he kept secret? A reverse mortgage on his home, monthly advances on the equity in his home, and mounting credit card debt. He destroyed my financial future to satisfy his need to exercise power over me. Prior to my abuser showing his true self, I counted myself blessed to find a partner to share this last part of my life with. We spent time with my friends, his family, and met with my therapist because I wanted to make to make sure I did everything right. In the end, he lied to everyone.

Leave a comment